Saturday, 9 August 2014

India Hosts To 3 World Tournaments In A Span Of 8 Years

ICC Cricket World Cup - TekSea
ICC Chairman N Srinivasan has confirmed that the ICC World T20, ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Cricket World Cup to be held in 2016, 2021 and 2023 respectively will be held exclusively in India. This seems to be an ecstatic news for all the cricket lovers in India as they will get to witness 3 world tournaments in just a span of 8 years. In the past, India used to get one ICC event in 16-18 years. We had the 2011 World Cup in India after 15 years and that we had to share with other countries. Now three events will happen in eight years and that is very significant.", Srinivasan told The Times Of India. The 2023 World Cup will be the first instance where India will be the only hosts as the 1987, 1996 and 2011 World Cups were held in India along with Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

No comments:

Post a Comment